Momoiro Clover Z and Me

This I decided to write about though as I’ve been thinking a lot about it lately, thanks to people who I see on twitter, various events and this particular post on the mononofutv blog about international success for the group. I want to respond to that post to a degree, but also talk about how I got in to the group and how I feel about them. It’s hard to put in to words for me, and I find it difficult to put the meaning down, but I’ll try to, and hopefully it will get across.

I did flood this post with YouTube videos a bit, and maybe it is too many, but I only have when it’s relevant and I feel a lot of people reading this may not be the most familiar with the group, hence the video above.

Now I’m a big fan of Momoiro Clover Z. Have been basically since I first heard them, which was around the time of their single which contained the OP and ED themes for the Moretsu Pirates anime (a pretty good show by the way), Moretsu Uchuu Kokyokyoku Dai Nana Gakushou ‘Mugen no Ai’, beginning of 2012. This song was the first time I heard the girls sing, first time I was introduced to their music. I was mesmerised. The thing that first struck me was the song itself. I loved their voices constantly overlapping and how they all came together, then the guitar track I loved (which I later learned was done by Marty Friedman). Then, when I saw the music video, I fell in love with the energy and character of the members. Their personalities, despite not really knowing them that well then, came through in their performance, you could see their enjoyment, and it made me smile the biggest grin for them for that reason.

I checked out their other music after this. I learnt more about them. I gradually became bigger and bigger fans of not just their music, but also of them. I was cheering them on, wanting the best for them, wanting them to be happy. When they got on the yearly New Year’s Eve NHK Kouhaku Uta Gassen for the first time, I was overjoyed. They’d always wanted it, and they finally were able to. I became a Mononofu and followed whatever they did, imported their CDs and even own a few bits of other merchandise too, such as the recent Quick Japan volume featuring Tamai Shiori.

fd20121228r1a

From left: Ariyasu Momoka (Green), Sasaki Ayaka (Pink), Momota Kanako (Red, Leader), Tamai Shiori (Yellow) and Takagi Reni (Purple)

This group of five girls stole my heart, basically, which I realise is a line that sounds really cheesy but it’s probably the best way I can put it across. Their humour was able to cheer me up every time, and I find it really hard to put in to words the reasons why I like the group so much. Being similar ages I think helps me relate to them a lot too. Another thing was that, because of this, I’ve spoken to other mononofu, people who I would never have spoken to without this common interest and these people are great people. I’ve noticed mononofu in general try to be as welcoming to new fans as they can and I try and do the same, I love it when I see others talking about them and getting excited like I do. I want to take part in more of these discussions, but I’ve always been a bit nervous to talk to people I don’t know or in large groups. The streaming I’ve been doing recently has helped me in that regard but I still wouldn’t say I’m confident and I want to try and talk to more fans, I want to share my passion more and get more confident so I can do so.

I have positive memories that I tie to their songs. Listening to their music opened my eyes to other things. Their performances can have a lasting effect on me. Their concert BDs bring long lasting smiles that continue long past their ending. In particular, some of their performances can effect me emotionally. I remember being brought almost to tears by a few of their group and solo performances, but one in particular that is more recent is this one by Shiorin, a cover sung by her, the song being called ‘Sotsugyou’, or ‘Graduation’. Honestly, it was sung with such emotion and meaning it blew me away and had me floored.

To sum it all up, without sounding cheesy, in the just over 3 years I’ve been a fan I could argue that MomoClo changed my life. In responding to the post, I think I wouldn’t be alone saying how much I would love to see MomoClo get worldwide popularity. They deserve it, they deserve to conquer the world with their smiles.

The reasoning for that lies in my love for the group and the fans it has. Fans of the group are very welcoming. While I may not be confident to go seeking these conversation, I’ve spoken to mononofu both from Japan and internationally, and really, it doesn’t matter where or why, you are MomoClo fans and they welcome you openly. I’ve introduced others to MomoClo over time and, really, it doesn’t matter that you don’t know the person, you’re immediately friends if you weren’t already because of the group. Even with other idol groups I listen to I never get this feeling from their fans. Not saying it as a way of negatively looking down on fans of these groups, but I find that if you don’t know everything you aren’t a ‘true’ fan, with that distinction not made with MomoClo. Fans of the group aren’t bothered if you know little or loads, they want you to like them, they want to enjoy their music with you.

It had me wondering if they’d ever get mainstream popularity worldwide. And if they did I would be over the moon for them. If MomoClo did get mainstream popularity, it would be for two reasons. One, it would be for them being themselves. They wouldn’t change simply to latch on to a trend, they’ve always set themselves out as being them, and nothing more or less than that. People like me have fell in love with them for that reason, they are so sincere and humorous and kind. The other reason would be that, to any new fans of the group, I know existing fans would welcome them with open arms. I would. And this would help an understanding develop between the new fans of who MomoClo are, and help them feel a part of the group and the support, not as an outsider. I feel to a degree internation fans introduced to the group since their recent singles for the anime of two big properties, Sailor Moon Crystal and Dragon Ball Z Resurrection F have received this. People who never listened to the group before fell in love with these songs, and instead of intimidating them they were helped.

anime-expo-2015-momoiro-clover-02

I think one of the biggest that gets me with this comes from a few months ago when they performed in America at Anime Expo. As well as having an event the day before the concert MomoClo themselves, with the help of Japanese fans who made the trip just for the concert and co-ordinated by their manager kwkm, were handing flyers out to new fans about the group. They wanted to share their smiles with the world, their joy, their love with everyone they could.

Still jealous I wasn’t there mind. I still hold my dream of wanting to see them live eventually, and would love to be able to see them for myself.

I’ve also been amazed at how much the #NoDangoNoParty hashtag has grown and brought fans together. A twitter user who I’ve spoken to multiple times before, @mary_yorke, made it to support Momoka, who was ill, and hoping for her recovery. And it was picked up on, not just by international fans but those in Japan too, to people who knew English and those who knew little, to people who’d never spoke to each other, transcending a language barrier and even trending. To bring all these people together was amazing, all through a common love, a common goal, and helped to bring the international fans closer to the Japanese fans. I’m glad that the Japanese management were able to notice this, notice the outpouring from around the world, and Momoka herself even named her newest post on her blog about it

Speaking of which, the thing with MomoClo is that they have an international fanbase, and I would love for the Japanese management to be more open and acknowledging to those fans. I’d love to not have to do awkward work-arounds to be an Angel Eyes fanclub member (I know I at least would be happy to pay a little extra to get it to cover shipping cost of some things abroad and so I could actually become a member), I’d love to be able to get merchandise much easier, maybe have more concerts internationally too (I’m gunning for a UK concert, please? Though just to see them perform abroad more for the fans everywhere would be great to see). So to answer the post I was partially responding to, it’s not a question of if there’s an international fanbase, there’s not really a debate in my opinion. It’s about bringing more people in to it, and it shouldn’t matter where they’re from.

2015-10-25_20-09-55

[Picture taken from this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZndktQHG-cc ]

To me, I know I will always hold a special place for this group. Through the girls themselves, through their music, through the people I’ve spoke to because of them, through the things I have learnt thanks to them, they have changed me as a person. And to avoid rambling on and repeating myself, MomoClo have become more than just a group of five Japanese girls singing and dancing. They are intrinsically a part of me, and I will always have time for them and whatever they do. They have had a large impact on me, and countless others too, and I would love to help more people have that same feeling.

If they like and respect Momoiro Clover Z, then they are mononofu, and I would be happy to see them become fans, just like I have. I want other people to feel that way about them way, in the way that I do.

Just after I finished writing this post and was checking it over a video came on my timeline, and after watching it I felt like it was the perfect thing to conclude on. A Youtube video, from twitter user @AOLJP46, who runs the mononofutv blog I mentioned in the post and does a lot of fan stuff, about how they became a mononofu. Watching it I felt it brought across a lot of how I felt so thought it would be a fitting thing to include.

Leave a comment